SWAP: Spring 2016

After going through my pattern stash, looking at fabrics, both in my stash and online, examining my wardrobe, I have now made a plan to sew for the spring of 2016. For a while, as I was thinking about the plan I had so many ideas and possibilities, but in the end I put down four garments on my plan. I would like to aim for six, but I can always do an additional plan later. I’d rather get started on this one.

Efter att ha tittat bland mina mönster, letat efter tyg, i mitt förråd och på nätet, utforskat min garderob, har jag nu gjort min plan för våren 2016. Ett tag, när jag tänkte på min plan hade jag många idéer och tankar om vad som skulle ingå, men i slutändan blev det fyra plagg i min plan. Jag skulle vilja sy sex plagg, men jag kan alltid göra en tilläggsplan senare om tid finns. Nu vill jag hellre starta med dessa plagg.

Helena 2016 vårplan

As I wrote in my goals for 2016 I really want to add new techniques to the clothes I’m making, so patterns have been chosen according to that, in addition to what I want to wear for the upcoming season.

Som jag skrev i mina mål för 2016 vill jag lägga till nya tekniker till kläderna jag syr, så min amönster har valts utifrån det, förutom vad jag faktiskt vill bära nästa årstid.

 

First up a jacket. Gasp! This is the Kitty jacket by Swedish designer Jenny Hellström. This is definitely the most challenging piece, since it needs fitting and is fully lined. I don’t have a fabric for this yet, but I’m thinking a light coloured denim to make a simple spring jacket (I already have a dark coloured denim jacket) or perhaps a corduroy to play with colours. It still needs to go with the other colours, though.

Första plagget är en jacka. Hjälp! Kitty-jackan ur Jenny Hellström Ruas bok Sy! Urban Collection. Detta är det mest utmanande plagget i planen eftersom det kräver passning och är helfodrat. Jag har inget tyg till denna jacka än, men jag tänker en ljus denim så att det blir en enkel vårjacka (jag har redan en mörk denimjacka) eller kanske manchester för att kunna leka mer med färger. Den måste fortfarande passa de andra färgerna, dock.

For the bottom half of my body, I’ll make a skirt. This pleated Burda skirt is very flattering, I have made it before but never worn it as I thought it was a good idea to sew it in quilting cotton. (I know!). The challenge in this garment is the front fly, something I need to practice. The fabric is the same as I used in my Clover pants (which may be a bit baggy, but still fun to wear!).

Planens underdel blir en kjol. Denna veckade Burda-kjol är mycket smickrande, jag har sytt den förr, men aldrig burit den eftersom jag tyckte att det var en bra idé att sy den i kvilttyg. (Vad tänkte jag?) Utmaningen i detta plagg är gylfen, något jag behöver öva på. Tyget är samma som i mina Clover-byxor (som är lite för stora, men jag älskar att bära dem!). Tyget är stretchtwill i ljus turkos

Last year I bought this lovely viscose fabric for a blouse, but I’ve had a hard time matching it to a pattern. The lines go parallel to the grain and I was worried that a viscose blouse with vertical lines would look too much “little old lady”. My SWAP-group agreed so I’m going to try Colette’s Taffy blouse, in which I get to work on my bias sewing skills.

Förra året köpte jag detta underbara viskostyg till en blus, men jag har haft problem med att matcha det till ett mönster. Ränderna är parallella med trådrakan och jag var orolig att en blus med vertikala ränder skulle bli för tantig. Garderobsgruppen höll med, så jag kommer att testa Colettes Taffy-blus, då för jag öva på mina färdigheter i att sy på skrådden.

Finally a simple top for casual days. Inspired by Mikhaela of Polka Dot Overload, I’m going to use the bodice part of Cake’s Tiramisu-dress to make a top. The midriff band will need lengthening, but other than that it should be a pretty straightforward process. As with the jacket I don’t have a fabric for this, but I like the look of Mikhaela’s striped top, so I’ll look for that, keeping in mind it must go with my aqua skirt. If I can’t find stripes it’ll probably be something solid. I love my solids.

 Till sist en enkel topp för lata dagar. Min inspiration är Mikhaela från Polka Dot Overload och jag kommer att använda livet från Cakes Tiramisuklänning till toppen. Midjebandet kommer att behöva förlängas, men i övrigt borde detta vara ett enkelt plagg. Precis som med jackan har jag inget tyg, men jag gillar Mikhaelas version med ränder så jag kommer att leta efter det, med tanken att den måste passa med min turkosa kjol. Hittar jag inga ränder blir det nog något enfärgat, jag älskar enfärgade tyger.

There we go, the four pieces on my spring plan. As I said, there might be an additional plan later if I finish these pieces in time, but I will take it slowly, learn new things and enjoy the process.

 Där har vi min fyra vårplagg. Som jag sade, det kan bli en tilläggsplan senare om jag blir klar med dessa i tid. Jag kommer ta det lugnt, lära mig nytt och njuta av processen.

 

10 thoughts on “SWAP: Spring 2016

  1. That jacket pattern is cute! And I’ll be interested to see how the Taffy turns out for you, since that’s definitely one of the two patterns in the Colette book that appeals to me the most.

    • It’s cute and will be challenge with fitting. But I’ll brave on.

      The Taffy is interesting, I’ve seen some cute versions around, so I hope mine will be too.

  2. Pingback: Creation: Knit Wrap Top – By Eitchy

  3. Pingback: Creation: Olga in Denim – By Eitchy

  4. Pingback: 2016 Spring Plan Completed – By Eitchy

Leave a Reply

