Creation: The Princess Dress

You’d think that being off work for a little over two weeks would lend itself some great time and opportunity to photograph the most recent creations, right? Wrong! Therefore it is now time to present my Christmas dress. I wore it for our Christmas celebrations and then threw it in the wash without having photographed it and afterwards I haven’t looked presentable slouching at home(not that my standards for “presentable” is high, but I don’t want to be a total mess) or the times I have looked presentable I haven’t had the time to photograph myself as we were off somewhere with two kids.

 

En skulle kunna tro att drygt två veckors semester skulle leda till lite tid att ta bilder på de senaste skapelserna, eller hur? Fel, fel, fel! På grund av detta är det nu en bit in i januari som jag presenterar min julklänning. Den bars till våra julfiranden och sen slängdes den i tvätten utan att ha fotograferats. Efter det har jag inte sett tillräckligt presentabel ut (inte för att mina krav för presentabel är speciellt höga, men jag vill inte se helt bedrövlig ut), och de stunder jag har varit presentabel har jag inte haft fototid eftersom vi har varit på väg någonstans med två barn i släptåg.

Mortmain

Just two and a half weeks before Christmas I decided I needed a new Christmas dress. I fully committed to this dress. In order to get fabric I ran through IKEA in about 15 minutes. I impressed myself (I had planned to go to IKEA to buy gifts for the kids’ advent stockings, a fabric store is close by so the rush through IKEA meant I had some time to browse fabrics). It was a rush through the fabric store as well, looking through the remnant bin, looking through the bolt, before I eventually settled on this black and navy jacquard. I’m the first to admit that I don’t know a lot about various fabric types, but this fabric does not say jacquard to me. It feels like a satin with a mesh overlay, perhaps there’s something in the weaving that’s the same as for jacquard, but it’s not what I would have guessed. It’s a poly/viscose blend.

 

Bara två och en halv vecka innan jul bestämde jag att jag behövde en ny klänning till vinterns festligheter. När jag väl bestämt mig blev klänningen min högsta prioritet. För att kunna handla tyg sprang jag igenom IKEA på en kvart och imponerade på mig själv (jag hade IKEA-planer för att köpa presenter till barnens adventsstrumpor, eftersom Stoff och Stil och IKEA båda ligger på Svågertorp, betydde IKEA-loppet att jag hade tid för tyghandling också). Det fick gå fort på Stoff och stil också, jag letade i stuvlådan, tittade på hyllorna och till slut valde jag detta jacquard i marinblått och svart. Jag erkänner att jag inte kan mycket om tyger, men detta tyg känns inte som en jacquard. För mig är det mer satin med mesh ovanpå. Jag vet att jacquard är en vävning och det kanske är den tekniken som har använts, men det är inte vad jag hade trott. Tyget är en blandning mellan polyester och viskos.

I like the waist definition

I like the waist definition

Since time was sparse I looked through my pattern stash and settled on Gather Kit’s Mortmain dress. It’s the same pattern as I used for last year’s Christmas dress, but I changed it up by adding sleeves and doing the box pleats the other way. Plus, I used an invisible zipper instead of the exposed one. A whole new dress! Oh, and I lengthened the bodice a bit so the waistband hits me at my natural waist, so much more comfortable and looking so much better.

 

Eftersom jag hade lite tid tittade jag igenom mitt mönsterförråd och valde Gather Kit’s Mortmain-klänning. Det är samma klänning som jag använde till förra årets julklänning, men jag har ändrat lite genom att lägga till ärmar och göra motvecken på andra hållet. Dessutom sydde jag ett osynligt blixtlås istället för det synliga. En helt ny klänning! Jag förlängde också livet några centimeter så att midjebandet nu sitter vid min midja istället för en bit ovanför, det är mycket mer bekvämt och ser så mycket bättre ut.

Original sleeve left, Alma sleeve right

Original sleeve left, Alma sleeve right

The sleeves gave me a headache. It’s not a problem I’ve seen anyone share, so I don’t know if the problem is the drafting or if I have messed up. And I’ll never know. Anyway, I wanted to add sleeves as this is a winter dress after all. I sewed the cuffs, the sleeves, did some easing in and attached them. I tried the dress on for fit again (I had obviously already tried it on for bodice fit) and found I couldn’t move my arms (left, below). It was also straining over the bust, making my nice-fitting bodice fit worse. I received many tips on how to fix this; adding a gusset, making the sleeve less narrow, but in the end I took them out and replaced them with Sewaholic’s Alma sleeves, view B. Ah, now I can move my arms again, much better (right, above).

 

Ärmarna var inte trevliga att arbeta med. Det är inte ett problem jag har sett hos andra, så jag kan inte bedöma om problemet ligger i mönstret eller hos mig. Jag får aldrig veta. Jag ville ha ärmar eftersom det trots allt är en vinterklänningen. Jag sydde manschetterna, ärmarna, passade ärmkullen i ärmhålet och sydde fast dem. Sen provade jag klänningen igen och kunde knappt röra ärmarna (till vänster, ovan). Klänningen stramade också över bysten, vilket gjorde att det liv som innan passade så fint helt plötsligt passade dåligt. Jag fick många tips om hur jag kunde fixa det; lägga till en kil, göra ärmen mindre smal, men till slut tog jag av dem och ersatte den med ärmarna från Sewaholics Alma, vy B. Och så kunde jag röra mina armar igen (till höger, ovan)

Mortmain, side

Other than the sleeves, this dress came together nicely. The fabric was fraying like crazy, I left a trail of black threads around the house to lead me back to the machines. It was still pretty nice to work with, although unpicking was a PIA as the stitches disappeared into the fabric. Also, due to the polyester it didn’t take quite as well as I wish to pressing. But now I’m too into details, bottom line: it’s a pretty winter dress.

 

Förutom ärmarna så är klänningen lätt att sy. Tyget rispades upp lätt och jag lämnade ett spår av svarta trådar bakom mig, så jag kunde hitta tillbaks till symaskinerna. Det var rätt lätt att jobba med, men att sprätta var en plåga eftersom stygnen försvann in i tyget. Eftersom tyget har polyester i sig var det inte så kul att pressa, men nu är jag inte på smådetaljer. Det är en fin vinterklänning, helt enkelt.

Subtle differences between right and wrong side

Subtle differences between right and wrong side

And yes, I’m back with creatively naming my garments. This one has the very pretentious name of The Princess Dress. Not that I particularly feel like a princess or am a supporter of monarchy at all, but because of the colours. Some might say that navy blue and black don’t go together, I think they do. I think this fabric is a perfect winter fabric. Plus if that colour matching is good enough for our Swedish princess Madeleine, it is good enough for me.

 

Och ja, jag fortsätter med att hitta på namn till mina kläder. Denna fick det väldigt pretentiösa namnet Prinsessklänningen. Inte för att jag känner mig som en prinsessa eller ens är en supporter av monarkin, men på grund av färgerna. En del säger att marinblått och svart inte passar ihop, jag tycker att det kan de visst göra. Jag tycker att detta tyg är ett perfekt vintertyg. Och duger färgerna år prinsessan Madeleine, duger de åt mig.

 

Pattern/Mönster: Gather Kits Mortmain dress
Fabric: Jacquard in a polyester/viscose blend, Stoff och Stil
Notions: Invisible zipper, interfacing

7 thoughts on “Creation: The Princess Dress

  1. It’s amazing how tiny changes to the pattern can make a whole new look, isn’t it? It is a lovely winter dress, and I’m glad that you were able to get the sleeves sorted out.

Leave a Reply

