UFO: The Leaf Skirt

I tend not have UFOs. Usually I have finished projects and fails. I cannot live with not finishing something, unless it is a complete fail that cannot be rescued. If I have decided to do something, I will finish it.

Jag tenderer att inte ha ofärdiga projekt. Vanligtvis har jag färdiga projekt och missar. Jag kan inte leva med att inte göra klart något, om det inte är ett helt misslyckande som inte kan räddas. Om jag har bestämt mig för att göra något, så avslutar jag det.

That said, it meant I found it hard to find a project for this month’s theme at The Monthly Stitch which was UFOs. At first I thought it would be one to sit out, but I didn’t want to do that since I haven’t posted there in a while. Then, during a discussion in The Monthly Stitch’s FB group, I realized what I should do.

Med det sagt så innebar detta att jag hade det svårt att hitta ett project för månadens tema hos The Monthly Stitch, som var just UFOs. Först så tänkte jag att jag får väl sitta på bänken, men jag ville göra något eftersom det är ett tag sedan jag delade något där. Sen, efter en diskussion i FB-gruppen för The Monthly Stitch så visste jag vad jag ville göra.

Yes, this was too big, but I hid it

Back in 2012 I made a dress with a fabric I loved. It didn’t fit until last summer (and sadly, now it doesn’t fit again). With the leftovers I made a skirt. I wore the skirt during the Me-Made May ’12 and it was one of my most appreciated garments of the community. But it did hide a secret. It was too big in the waist. And not a little too big, when I made the adjustments now it was 7 cm (that’s 2 ¾”) too big! So, unpick, unpick, unpick it was.

2012 gjorde jag en klänning i ett tyg jag älskar. Den passade inte förrän förra sommaren (och ledsamt nog inte nu heller). Med resterna sydde jag en kjol. Jag bar den under Me-Mady-May 12 och det var ett av mina mest uppskattade plagg. Men den gömde en hemlighet. Den var för stor i midjan. Inte bara lite för stor, nu när jag mätte var den 7 cm för stor! Det var bara att sprätta, sprätta, sprätta.

It fits!

It fits!

I ripped both the side seams to take it in 3.5 cm per side. Facings were unpicked, the zipper was taken out and the hem was opened. The fabric is a cotton sateen and on its Wikipedia page it says that the sateen weave is very susceptible to wear, which was made clear to me as I was unpicking. The fabric tore in several places, so in a silver lining way it was good that it was all of 7 cm to big, because it meant I could easily cut of the torn bits. I also noticed that there is some wear in the dart, so fingers crossed this skirt will last me a while, now that it finally fits.

Jag sprättade båda sidsömmarna för att ta in den 3,5 cm per sida. Infodringarna sprättades, blixtlåset togs ut och fållen öppnades. Tyget är ett bomullssatin och på dess Wikipedia-sida står det att satinväven är känslig för slitage, vilket synliggjordes tydligt när jag sprättade. Tyget slets sönder på vissa ställen, så på ett ”glaset är halvfullt”-sätt var det tur att den var så mycket för stor som sju cm, då kunde jag lättare klippa bort de sönderrivna bitarna. Jag noterade också att en inprovning är lite sliten, så nu håller vi tummarna att kjolen hänger med ett tag, nu när den äntligen passar ordentligt.

Love the new length

Love the new length

The pattern is the Meringue skirt from Colette’s Sewing Handbook, obviously scallops omitted. The fabric is cotton sateen from Stoff och stil. Most of the details regarding the construction are in my creation post – in which I talk about its being too big and needs to be taken in. It only took four years! As a result from being taken in, the skirt now sits higher and is shorter. I don’t mind.

Mönstret är Meringue-kjolen från Colette’s Sewing Handbook, uppenbarligen utan uddkant. Tyget är bomullssatin från Stoff och Stil. De flesta detaljerna angående konstruktion är i min kreations-post – i vilken jag pratar om att den är för stor och måste tas in. Det tog bara fyra år! Som en konsekvens från att ha tagits in sitter kjolen högre och är kortare. Det bekommer mig inte.

The Leaf skirt revisited (1)

Now I hope to get some spring-time wear out of this skirt and that it won’t completely fall apart on me. Also, I need to source some more cotton sateen, that thing is a dream to work with!

Nu hoppas jag på lite vårklädslar ur denna kjol och att den inte trillar i bitar för mig. Dessutom vill jag hitta mer bomullssatin, det är en dröm att jobba med!

And yes, I’m wearing the same cardigan in both the 21012 picture and the 2016 pictures. I love that styling!

Och ja, jag bär samma kofta i båda seten bilder. Jag älskar den matchningen!

The Monthly Stitch

7 thoughts on “UFO: The Leaf Skirt

  1. Pingback: My Leaf Skirt – It Finally Fits! | The Monthly Stitch

  2. I do love a good cotton sateen..I haven’t worked with it much. But it’s so comfortable! This looks like a great skirt salvage, and a completely valid interpretation of the UFO theme. I’m hoping I’ll finish my main one in time.

  3. Pingback: 2016 Spring Plan Completed – By Eitchy

  4. Pingback: Me-Made-May Week 3 – By Eitchy

Leave a Reply

