Creation: Aqua Skirt

Aqua skirt (11)

What do you say about a skirt that is just a skirt? A simple skirt, with some pleats in the front, darts in the back, a shaped waistband and a fly front. I do feel like I should be all over the place talking about that fly front, because it’s my first completely successful one, shouting out “look here, I made a fly front”. But, in reality I didn’t find the fly process that hard and it’s not worth bragging about. I just read my Burda instructions slowly, took a glance in my reference book, did it one step at the time and once I used that approach it wasn’t hard at all. Certainly not brag-worthy, since people are constructing fly fronts left and right around me.

Vad säger man om en kjol som bara är en kjol? En enkel kjol, men några veck fram, inprovningar bak, en formad linning och en gylf. Jag känner att jag borde vara överlycklig över att ha sytt en snygg gylf, det är min första som blev riktigt bra, skrika i bloggen att ”titta, jag har sytt en gylf!” Men, i ärlighetens namn, så tyckte jag inte det var så svårt att sy och det är inte värt att skryta om. Det jag gjorde var att lugnt läsa mina Burda-instruktioner lugnt, jag slog en blick i min referensbok, tog ett steg i taget och med den metodiken var det inte svårt alls. Det känns inte som värdigt nog för skryt, eftersom folk uppenbarligen konstruerar gylfar till höger och vänster.

Burda 2012-05-118

Now, don’t get the idea that I don’t like this skirt, because I do. It’s just that I don’t know what to write about it. The pattern is Burda 2012-05-118, a mini pleated skirt with slant pockets and no welt pockets. You see, those are not welt pockets but just bits of fabric sewn to the back to create an illusion – a fact I was not aware of until I read Andrea/Four Square Wall’s post about the skirt. And why would I, I don’t read every single instruction sheet for every single pattern that enter my house.

Jag vill inte ge uppfattningen att jag inte gillar denna kjol, för det gör jag. Det är bara det att jag inte vet vad jag ska skriva om den. Mönstret är från Burda 2012-05-118, en minikjol med veck, fickor och inga passpoalfickor. Det kanske ser ut så på ritningen, men det är inga fickor där bak, bara tygstolpar som är ditsydda för att skapa illusionen av passpoalfickor. Detta var jag inte medveten om förrän jag läste Andreas/Four Square Wall inlägg om kjolen. Och varför skulle jag, det är inte så att jag läsa varenda mönsterinstruktion som finns i mitt hem.

Aqua skirt (6)

This is my second iteration of this skirt. The first was made 4 years ago, when the magazine was new, but has never been worn. It was made in quilting cotton. Let’s leave it at that. It did serve a purpose as a muslin, though. The thing is, comparing a quilting cotton with a stretch twill (97% cotton, 3% lycra) is not a good thing. While my first skirt was very tight, the second skirt was too big. And with the slant pockets I had to take it all in from the back pieces. It works, but the waistband is still a bit stiff and big. Maybe I should have lined it (the waistband, that is) with a thinner fabric. I also had some issues with the waistband no lining up properly at the front, the buttonholes I put in on the overlapping side was not met by the other side of the waistband. That was solved with the use of a flat pants eye and hook.

Detta är min andra version av denna kjol. Den första gjordes för fyra år sedan, när tidningen var ny, men har aldrig burits. Den är gjord i kvilttyg. Vi lämnar det så. Den gjorde sitt jobb som ett provplagg i alla fall. Grejen är bara att det är inte en bra idé att jämföra ett kvilttyg med stretchtwill (97% bomull, 3% lycra). Min första kjol var väldigt tight, men den andra blev för stor. Och med fickorna fram var jag tvungen att ta bort allt från bakstyckena. Det funkar, men linningen är också lite tjock och klumpig. Jag kanske borde ha fodrat den (linningen) med ett tunnare tyg. Jag hade också lite problem i att linningen inte överlappade där fram som den skulle, knapphålen jag satte i nåddes inte av den andra delen av linningen. Detta räddade jag med hjälp av byxhäktor.

Aqua skirt (8)

All in all, this is a nice little skirt. I like the shape of the waistband and the slight flare. It’s easy to wear and I like the slant pockets. It will probably get its fair share of fresh air during spring and summer time.

Sammanfattningsvis är detta en trevlig kjol, jag gillar formen på linningen och formen på utställdheten. Den är lätt att bära och fickor är alltid bra att ha. Den kommer få känna av frisk luft under våren och sommaren.

 

Pattern: Burda 2012-05-118
Fabric: Brushed stretch twill, Stoff och Stil
Notions: metal zipper, pants hook and eye, interfacing, thread

Mönster: Burda 2012-05-118
Tyg: Borstad stretchtwill, Stoff och stil
Sybehör: Metallblixtlås, byxhäktor, mellanlägg, tråd

15 thoughts on “Creation: Aqua Skirt

  1. Pingback: Creation: The White Tiger Jacket – By Eitchy

  2. Pingback: Creation: Knit Wrap Top – By Eitchy

  3. Pingback: 90s Throwback | The Monthly Stitch

  4. Pingback: 2016 Spring Plan Completed – By Eitchy

  5. Pingback: Me-Made-May 16: Week 2 – By Eitchy

Leave a Reply

