Creation: The White Tiger Jacket

Kitty Jacket (5)

Woo-hoo, I made a jacket! A jacket that is lined, has a collar, two-part sleeves. It might not be perfect, but it is fun and I’ve learnt a lot to take with me into future jacket endeavors.

Tjo-ho, jag har sytt en jacka! En fodrad jacka med krage och tvådelade ärmar. Det kan vara så att den inte är helt perfekt, men den är rolig och jag har lärt mig mycket att ta vidare till kommande jack-äventyr.

Princess seams and pockets

Princess seams and pockets

The pattern I used is the Kitty Jacket from Jenny Hellström’s book Sy! Urban Collection. The jacket features princess seams, a two-part sleeve, collar, pockets and a lining. I did a lot of prep work on this, and in some ways maybe this jacket should be considered a wearable muslin, although I’m not sure I’ll make an actual piece. First of all, I had 19 pattern pieces to trace since the outer jacket and the lining jacket were not identical. I lengthened the pattern above the bust, to account for my long torso, I did an FBA, which I had to do on both the inner and outer jacket, and I added length at the bottom since the jacket was designed to end at waist level. Then I forgot to add the same length for the lining (luckily I remembered to do it above the bust), but the lining wasn’t supposed to be attached to the bottom hem anyway so I could get away with. Yes, the lining is a bit shorter than the shell, but it’s on the inside and not something that is seen when I wear the jacket.

Mönstret är Kitty från Jenny Hellströms bok Sy! Urban Collection. Jackan har prinsesskärning, en delad ärm, krage, fickor och foder. Det gick in mycket förarbete i denna jacka och på ett sätt kanske denna jacka borde ses som ett provplagg, men jag är inte säker på att den följs av ett riktigt plagg. Först och främst: mönstret har 19 mönsterdelar att rita av eftersom ytterjacka och foderjacka inte är likadana. Jag förlängde mönstret ovanför bysten för att ta hänsyn till min långa torso, jag gjorde en justering för stor byst, både på ytter- och innerjackan, och till sist lade jag till längd längst ner eftersom jackan är designad att sluta vid midjan. Sen glömde jag att lägga till samma längd längst ner på foderjackan (som tur var kom jag ihåg det ovan bysten), men fodret skulle ändå inte sitta fast vid ytterjackan så det funkade ändå. Ja, fodret är lite kortare än ytterjackan, men det är på insidan och kommer inte att synas.

Kitty line drawing

Kitty line drawing

The fabric I used for the outer jacket is a stretch twill. Stoff och stil describes the print as a zebra print, but I think it’s more of a tiger print. A white tiger, perhaps? The stretch twill probably is slightly too heavy and thick for this design (although denim is one of the recommended fabric) as I found it a bit too bulky in certain places, mostly around the collar and facings, basically where I have two layers. The lining is a thin cotton, with tiny polka dots (same type of fabric as in my old Vanessa skirt). I chose not to use a typical lining fabric as this is a spring jacket and it’s likely I’ll have short sleeves under it, a poly or acetate lining just doesn’t feel nice on the skin. The cuffs are sewn in ribbing, I like them, they give the jacket a casual look, they hold the sleeves up on my short arms and hold them in on my narrow wrists. Sewing – a great way to accept and embrace your body’s unique quirks!

Tyget till ytterjackan är ett stretchtwill från Stoff och stil. Det beskrivs som ett zebratryck, men i mina ögon är det mer ett tigertryck. En vit tiger, kanske? Tyget är nog lite för tungt och tjockt för denna designen (fast denim är ett rekommenderat tyg) eftersom jag tyckte att det blev lite klumpigt på vissa ställen, mest runt kragen och infodringarna, dvs. där jag har två lager. Fodret är ett tunt bomullstyg med små prickar (samma typ av tyg som i min gamla Vanessa-kjol). Jag ville inte ha ett vanlgit fodertyg eftersom jackan är en vårjacka och jag kommer antagligen ha korta ärmar under och polyester och acetat är inte skönt att ha mot huden. Manschetterna är sydda i muddväv, jag gillar dem, de ger jackan en mer vardaglig stil, de håller upp ärmarna på mina korta armar och de håller in dem runt mina smala handleder. Sömnad – ett bra sätt att acceptera och hylla kroppens unika egenheter!

Tie-bands in the back

Tie-bands in the back

I had never before made an FBA on a princess seamed bodices, so yet another thing to learn. While I have read that busty ladies like princess seams just because they are easy to FBA, I found the process longer than on a normal bodice. Personal preferences, I suppose. To help me I used Mary’s (of Idle Fancy) excellent tutorial which was easy to follow and gave me a good result.

 

Tidigare har jag aldrig gjort en FBA på ett liv med prinsessömmar, så det var ännu en ny sak att lära. Jag har läst av andra bystiga kvinnor att de gillar prinsessömmar för att de är så lätta att anpassa till stor byst, men jag kände att processen var längre än på ett vanligt liv. Det handlar om personlig smak, antar jag. Till min hjälp använde jag Mary’s (från Idle Fancy) utmärkta beskrivning, den var lätt att följa och gav bra resultat.

Fully lined!

Fully lined!

Verdict? Like I said, it might not be perfect, but I am still thrilled with my very first successful jacket! It makes me happy and I don’t care about the minor flaws. If someone were to mention them, I hope it will result in an engaging conversation regarding sewing techniques. It also feels great to be over the hurdle of having sewn a jacket, the next time I’ll make a jacket it’ll be better. That’s how I learn, by making things, trying new things, using the experiences to my advantage. Until I’m ready to make a new jacket, I’ll happily wear my White Tiger Jacket.

 

Min dom? Som jag sade, den kanske inte är helt perfekt, men jag är ändå glad och nöjd över min första jacka! Den gör mig glad och jag bryr mig inte om småfelen. Om nån känner sig nödgad att nämna dem, hoppas jag att det mynnar ut i en spännande diskussion om sömnadstekniker. Det känns också bra att ha kommit över hindret att ha sytt en jacka, nästa jag syr en jacka kommer den bli bättre. Det är så jag lär mig, genom att göra saker, försöka nya saker, använda erfarenheterna till min fördel. Tills jag är redo att sy en ny jacka kommer jag med glädje att använda min vita tiger-jacka.

Ribbing cuffs to finish the sleeves

Ribbing cuffs to finish the sleeves

And, my final detail. I added a hook to the back so I can hang it!

Och, min sista detalj. En krok i ryggen så jag kan hänga jackan!

I added a hook in the back

I added a hook in the back

Pattern: Kitty Jacket by Jenny Hellström
Fabric: Stretch twill, ribbing and cotton (poplin?), all Stoff och stil
Notions: Interfacing, buttons, thread
Worn with my aqua skirt

Mönster: Kitty ur Sy! Urban Collection by Jenny Hellström
Tyg: Stretchtwill, muddväv och bomull (poplin?), allt från Stoff och Stil
Sybehör: Mellanlägg, knappar, tråd
Bärs ihop med min aqua-kjol

14 thoughts on “Creation: The White Tiger Jacket

  1. Pingback: Creation: Knit Wrap Top – By Eitchy

  2. Pingback: 2016 Spring Plan Completed – By Eitchy

  3. Pingback: Me-Made-May 16: Week 2 – By Eitchy

Leave a Reply

