Creation: Knit Wrap Top

IMG_0924[1]

As you may have noticed I don’t knit. There is no trace of a knitted piece of yarn anywhere on this blog. Growing up my mum and grandmother used to knit a lot, both of them also sewed, but it is as knitters I mainly remember them, especially my mum. She always had a knitting project ongoing. She tried to teach me when I was younger, but it didn’t stick. It just wasn’t for me.

Som kanske har märkts i bloggen så stickar jag inte. Det finns inget spår av en bit stickad garn någonstans här. När jag var liten stickade min mamma och mormor mycket, de sydde också, men det är som stickerskor jag minns dem, speciellt min mamma. Hon hade alltid ett projekt på stickorna. Hon försökte lära mig när jag var yngre, men det fastnade inte. Stickning var inte för mig.

 

IMG_0937[1]This post is not about a revelation that I now knit. No! Rather this post is trying to find alternatives to knitting. My not knitting has left to some gaps in my wardrobe, I am missing clothes to snuggle up in, to keep me warm and cozy during the winter months. Last year, or if it was the year before, I bought this thin knit fabric with the intention of sewing knitwear. Even though I was in the middle of sewing my spring plan, I took a break to sew this as the weather in early March wasn’t exactly screaming spring. It was screaming “you need cozy knitwear”. Plus after making a few complicated garments (skirt, jacket) I needed a palate cleanser.

Detta inlägg handlar inte om att jag nu sticker. Nej! Detta inlägg handlar snarare om att hitta alternativ till att sticka. Att jag inte stickar har lämnat en del hål i min garderob, jag saknar kläder att mysa i, att hålla mig varm under vintermånaderna. Förra året, eller om det var året innan dess, köpte jag detta tunnstickade tyg med avsikten att sy mig stickade plagg. Och nu, mitt i vårplanen, tog jag en paus för att sy denna tröja eftersom vädret i tidiga mars inte sade vår. Det sade snarare att jag behövde mysiga stickade plagg. Dessutom efter några komplicerade plagg ville jag göra något enkelt (kjol, jacka).

IMG_0935[1]

My wishes for this creation were quick and easy. I looked through my pattern collection and decided on this wrap knit top from the book Burdastyle Wardrobe Essentials. It was easy to sew, but beware, it is a fabric hog since the front pieces also form the yoke and, furthermore, are self-faced. The self-facing also gave me some trouble. Early on you are told to finish the facing edge and fold them down, basting them in place about 4 cm from the fold. Then they are sewn in place, forming the back yoke and then nothing more is stated. Are we supposed to leave the basting in? Would that look pretty? I removed the basting stitches and find myself having to readjust the top when I put it on. The facings stay put when I wear it, I just found the construction odd.

Mina önskemål var snabbt och enkelt. Jag tittade igenom min mönstersamling och valde denna omlottopp från Burdastyle Wardrobe Essentials. Den var lätt och snabb att sy, men åt massa tyg eftersom framstyckena både formar oket bak och dessutom innehåller fodringarna. Dessa fodringar gav mig lite bekymmer. Tidigt i konstruktionen så sicksackar en fodringskanten och viker ner dem, tråcklar 4 cm från vikningen. Sen sys stycket ihop, formar det bakre oket och sen händer inget mer. Ska tråcklingen lämnas kvar? Blir det snyggt? Jag tog bort tråcklingen och nu måste jag rätta till dem när jag tar på toppen. Fodringarna ligger som de ska när jag bär toppen, men jag tyckte bara att konstruktionen var konstig.

I did an undercut after Christmas. Love it!

I did an undercut after Christmas. Love it!

This top fills a wardrobe gap for me and it’s nice and warm. I see myself out in the woods talking spring walks in this top. I will also find more knitted fabrics and make more knitwear.

Denna topp fyller ett garderobshål och den är varm och skön. Jag ser mig i den i skogen under vårpromenader. JAg tänker också hitta mer stickat tyg och utöka denna del av garderoben.

Fabric: Knitted fabric from Stoff och Stil
Pattern: Burdastyle 2011-11-114

Tyg: Tunnstickat från Stoff och Stil
Mönster: Burdastyle 2011-11-114

 

 

3 thoughts on “Creation: Knit Wrap Top

  1. Pingback: MMMay16: Week 1 – By Eitchy

Leave a Reply

