Creation: Olga in Denim

Olga skirt

Meet Olga, my new best friend! After all the work that was my Tiramisu-top, I went back to what I love. Crisp fabric, interesting style lines, woven fabric.

Här är Olga, min nya kompis! Efter allt arbete jag lade ner på min Tiramisu-topp återgick jag till vad jag älskar. Lätthanterat tyg, intressanta linjer, vävt tyg.

Interesting lines

Interesting lines

Since its release in 2013, this skirt has been very popular in the Swedish sewing community, making rounds and rounds. It was finally time for me to jump on that bandwagon. And what a fun bandwagon it was! This skirt was so much fun to sew with the pockets, the gathers, the topstitching and the fabric was a dream to work with it, behaved very well and also took well to pressing.

Sedan Jenny Hellström släppte sin bok Sy! Från hood till skjortklänning har denna kjol varit väldigt populär hos svenska synördar. Nu var det äntligen dags för mig att hoppa på det tåget. Och vilket kul tåg det var! Jag hade riktigt roligt när jag sydde denna kjol, med fickorna, rynket, stickningarna och tyget som var underbart att arbeta med, det skötte sig bra och blev snyggt när det pressades.

Olga skirt

This fabric probably also accounts for the shortest time spent in my stash. It is a thin denim I fell in love with the second Stoff och Stil’s spring collection was released. I bought it, with the intention of making an Olga, and here she is, just a few weeks later and the fabric has already turned into a skirt. The pockets are lined with and patterned cotton fabric since I didn’t buy enough of the denim and the star buttons (more love!) was bought for an idea that was never realized.

Tyget vinner också tävlingen för att ha tillbringat kortast tid i mitt förråd. Det är ett tunt denimtyg som jag blev kär i direkt när Stoff och stil släppte sin vårkollektion. Jag köpte det med intentionen att sy en Olga och här är hon, bara några veckor senare har tyget förvandlats till en kjol. Fickorna är fodrade med ett tryckt bomullstyg eftersom jag köpte lite för lite av denimet och stjärnknapparna (mer kärlek!) köpte jag till en idé som aldrig förverkligades.

Up the skirt shot of Minnie courtesy of Erika who wanted in on the Picture (I cropped her out)

Up the skirt shot of Minnie courtesy of Erika who wanted in on the Picture (I cropped her out)

As you can see from the line drawing, the skirt is supposed to have a ruffle at the bottom. While I’m not normally a frills and ruffle person, I thought that I might get away with it due to the simple fabric (not a bad thing). Plus most versions I’ve seen features the ruffle and they have looked good. So, I sewed plenty of basting, gathered, attached the ruffle, spent time taking out the basting. Just as an FYI I can tell you that the ruffle had a circumference of 2.4 metres. Once I tried the skirt on, ruffle and all, I felt like I should braid my hair and run down a grass hill Little House on the Prairie style. Especially when I went downstairs and the ruffle swooshed around my legs. Not pretty. My husband actually didn’t think it was that bad, but I didn’t like it so I took the whole thing out. Cutting it out, since the denim is lightweight I knew the ripper would damage it anyway and I would have to even it out. It was later hemmed with some light blue bias tape I had laying around. Perfect match!

Av den tekniska ritningen kan en se att kjolen ska ha en volang längst ner. Normalt är jag inte så mycket för volanger och annat pynt, men jag tänkte att med detta enkla tyg (inte en dålig sak) kunde det kanske fungera. Dessutom har de flesta versioner jag har sett haft volangen och sett bra ut. Så jag tråcklade massor, rynkade, sydde fast volangen och sprättade tråckelstygnen. Som information kan jag berätta att volangens omkrets är 2,4 meter. När jag väl provade kjolen, med volang och allt, kände jag mig som att jag borde fläta håret och springa nerför en gräskulle i sann Lilla huset på prärien-anda. Speciellt när jag gick nerför trappan och volangen hoppade runt min ben. Inte snyggt. Min man tyckte faktiskt inte att det såg så dåligt ut, men jag gillade inte den, såg jag tog bort hela volangen. Jag klippte bort den eftersom denimet var så tunt att sprättare skulle ändå ha skadat det och jag hade varit tvungen att klippa bort de skadade bitarna. Istället fållade jag kjolen med lite ljusblå snedslå som låg här hemma. Perfekt matchning!

Pocket detail

Pocket detail

If I hadn’t been made clear I totally love this skirt and I can see why it’s such a big hit. The fabric I chose was a perfect pairing and the stars are just right. I was so happy with this skirt that I want to buy the same material so I can replicate it should my body change or the fabric tear. Would that be crazy? (It might not be totally serious, but it says something about how much I like this skirt)

Om det inte har framgått så älskar jag denna kjol och jag förstår varför den är så populär. Tyget jag valde var en perfekt matchning och stjärnorna är helt rätt. Jag är så nöjd med denna kjol att jag funderade om jag skulle köpa en uppsättning till av materialet så jag skulle kuna kopiera den om min kropp ändras eller om tyget slits sönder. Är det helt galet? (Det kanske inte är helt seriöst, men det säger lite om hur mycket jag gillar kjolen)

While it wasn’t on my original spring plan, I had two open spots left to make up six garments, so this is one of my additions. Chances are I will live in this skirt all spring and summer!

Den var inte på min originalplan för våren, men jag hade två öppna platser upp till sex plagg, denna är ett av mina tillägg. Det är stor sannolikhet att jag kommer att bo i denna kjol till våren och sommaren!

 

Pattern: Olga skirt from Sy! Från hood till skjortklänning by Jenny Hellström
Fabric: Lightweight denim, Stoff och stil. Cotton weave for pocket facing
Notions: Invisible zipper, interfacing, Pants hook and eye, Star buttons, cotton bias tape.

Mönster: Olga kjol från Sy! Från hood till skjortklänning av Jenny Hellström
Tyg: Tunt denim, Stoff och Still. Tryckt bomullsväv till fickfoder.
Sybehör: Osynligt blixtlås, byxhäktor, stjärnknappar, bomullssnedslå.

 

7 thoughts on “Creation: Olga in Denim

  1. Pingback: 90s Throwback | The Monthly Stitch

  2. That skirt looks great on you! I love the star buttons, and I think between the gathers and buttons and fabric, your skirt manage to find the perfect balance between cute and casual!

    • Thanks! The star buttons were purchased for another Project that never happened (we’ve all been there, right) so they were a very lucky find in my button drawer.

  3. Pingback: 2016 Spring Plan Completed – By Eitchy

  4. Pingback: MMMay16: Week 1 – By Eitchy

Leave a Reply

