Plan: Summer 2016

Believe it or not, summer is approaching with each passing day. Every day we get by, we are one day closer to beach visits, warm days, vacations… a girl can dream can’t she? No matter how much summer feeling you get when looking out the window, it is out there hiding somewhere and in sewing planning, it is now time to start sewing for summer. Here’s what I’m planning to make this summer.

Även om en inte kan tro det så kommer sommaren närmre för varje dag som går. Varje dag är vi en dag närmre strandhäng, varma dagar, semester…vilka dagdrömmar jag har. Oavsett hur mycket, eller lite, sommarkänsla en får när en tittar ut genom fönstret, så gömmer den sig någonstans därute och i sömnadsplanering är det nu dags att börja sy för den. Här är vad jag planerar att sy i sommar.

The plan is made to complement my spring garments. For spring I made many skirts so now I will focus on other garments to wear with my new skirts. Two tops, two dresses, a pair of shorts and, if I’m up for the challenge, I will finish with some swimwear. That, combined with my spring garments, should keep me well dressed during the warmer months.

Planen ska komplettera mina vårkläder. Till våren gjorde jag många kjolar, så nu fokuserar jag på andra plagg att bära till mina nya kjolar. Två toppar, två klänningar, ett par shorts och, om jag är modig nog, lite badkläder. I kombination med vårplaggen kommer jag nog känna mig välklädd under de varmare månaderna.

Helena 2016 Sommarplan

I’ve had this amazing city print stretch poplin in my stash for a few years and it’s time to cut it up and put it back together. The plan is to turn it into a Belladone (Deer and Doe), omitting the top overlap. This will require some alteration of the back bodice, as it is not as wide enough in the shoulder, but I figure that will be an easy alteration.

Jag älskar detta stretchpoplin med stadstryck och det har legat i mitt förråd i några år. Det är dags att klippa itu det och sy ihop det. Min idé är att sy en Belladone (Deer and Doe), men jag tänker ta bort den övre delen av överlappet. För att göra detta måste jag ändra det bakre livet lite, eftersom det inte är brett nog i axeln, men det är nog inga större problem.

Continuing through Deer and Doe’s pattern collection I will make myself a shirt dress using the Bruyère pattern. The truth is I want to make it as a shirt for my autumn sewing (but let’s not think about that now), so the dress will be a wearable muslin. It will be sleeveless and I’m still pondering if I should use a straight hem or mimic the shirt hem when I elongate it. Decisions, decisions…

För att fortsätta genom Deer and Does mönsterkollektion ska jag sy mig en skjortklänning med Bruyère-mönstret. För att vara ärlig så är tanken att ha skjortan i höstplanen (men nu slutar vi tänka på höst), så klänningen blir ett provplagg. Ärmlös och jag funderar fortfarande på om jag ska använda en rak fåll eller härma skjortans fåll när jag förlänger den. Åh, alla dessa beslut!

As for tops, I’m making two. One woven and one knit. The woven (Kwik Sew 3620), which I’ve already begun sewing, is a simple blouse in striped white seersucker with a shawl collar (new technique!). The knit is a striped version of Deer and Doe’s Plantain. The alternative name of this plan is “A Deer and Doe summer”. I haven’t decided on sleeve length yet, but no hurry.

De två topparna är en i vävt tyg och en i trikå. Den vävda (Kwik Sew 3620), som jag redan har påbörjat, är en enkel blus i randig vit seersucker med sjalkrage (ny teknik!). Trikåtoppen är en randig version av Deer and Doe’s Plantain. Sommarplanens alternativa namn är ”En sommar med Deer and Doe”. Jag har inte bestämt hur långa ärmarna ska vara, men det är ingen brådska.

So I will not just wear skirts this summer, I’ve added a pair of shorts. These are from Burda 02-2013 and seem to be very popular and quite easy to sew. I will happily admit that I’ve bought twice the fabric requirement if fitting goes awfully wrong the first time.

För att inte bara ha kjolar hela sommaren har jag lagt till ett par shorts. Dessa är från Burda 02-2013 och verkar vara populär och enkla att sy. Jag kan glatt erkänna att jag har köpt två gånger tygåtgången om anpassningen av mönstret går helt fel första gången.

Then there’s that brown floral fabric. It’s swimsuit lycra. It scares me. I already know that this will be saved for last, but I’m hoping I can put something decent together. I have Burda’s Alison swimsuit pattern, so perhaps I’ll match the two. We’ll see, it would be a great achievement if I could make a swimsuit.

Sen har vi det där bruna, blommiga tyget. Baddräktstyg. Det skrämmer mig. Jag kan redan nu saga att det kommer att sparas till sist, men jag hoppas att vad jag än gör med det så blir det något hyfsat bra. Jag har mönstret till Burdastyles Alison, så det kanske blir en matchning av de två. Vi får se, det vore en stor bedrift om jag lyckades sy badkläder.

There you have it, what I will be up to in the upcoming months and what I will be wearing in the summer.

Här har vi vad jag ska pyssla med i de kommande månaderna och vad jag ska bära i sommar.

One thought on “Plan: Summer 2016

Leave a Reply

