Wardrobe Thoughts

Last week I had a day off as the kids’ daycare was closed. I spent the morning cleaning my closet. As the work week progress I get more and more lazy about putting my clothes back in place (if they don’t get sent to the laundry bin) and they end up scattered on the floor or flung on one of the shelves. So my project was to put everything back in its place; fold, hang and keep order.

Förra veckan hade jag en ledig dag när barnens förskola var stängd. På förmiddagen städade jag i min garderob. Allt eftersom arbetsveckan fortlöper så blir jag mer och mer lat i att lägga tillbaks kläder i garderoben (om de inte ska till tvätten) och det slutar med att de ligger slängda på golvet eller på någon hylla. Mitt projekt var att lägga tillbaks allt på sin plats; vika, hänga och hålla ordning.

My primary goal this time was not to remove anything. A few garments and a pair of shoes were packed for donation, but it was not the goal. Instead, the goal was to get order. Which I did, in one way. I completed my task and took a few steps back to look at my new all in its place wardrobe. And I felt suffocated.

Mitt främsta mål var inte att ta bort något. Några plagg och ett par skor packades för donation, men det var inte ett mål. Målet var att få ordning. Jag fick ordning, när jag var klar tog jag några steg bakåt och tittade in i min garderob där allt låg på sin plats. Och det kändes kvävande.

This sight felt choking

This sight felt choking

The amount of clothes looking back at me was chocking. So much clothes and still nothing to wear. I need to do something. I’ve been tipped on the Konmari method, only keeping what I love; I’ve pondered putting away seasonal clothing so I’m not faced with them daily. What stops me is fear. I’m afraid my wardrobe would be empty and that I would truly have “nothing to wear” despite the fact that I’m currently only wearing like 30% of my clothes on a regular basis.

Det var så mycket kläder som tittade tillbaks på mig. Så mycket kläder och ändå har jag aldrig något att ha på mig. Jag måste göra något. Konmari-metoden har föreslagits, att bara behålla det jag älskar; jag har funderat på att lägga undan säsongskläder så att jag slipper titta på dem dagligen. Det som hindrar mig är rädsla. Jag oroar mig att garderoben ska eka tom och att jag faktiskt inte skulle ha något att ha på mig, trots att jag nu bara använder cirka 30% av kläderna regelbundet.

Also, May is rolling around and with it comes Me-Made-May, one of the biggest sewing highlights of the year. I’ve been going back and forth on whether or not I should join, I do think it would be a good way to get my handmade clothes back in rotation, but I dread the documentation. I know that documentation isn’t mandatory, but if I’m going to participate I would want to document to see how my clothes look on me.

Dessutom är maj runt hörnet och med det Me-Made-May, en stor högtid i sömnadsvärlden. Jag har velat fram och tillbaka om jag ska vara med eller inte, det kunde nog vara ett bra sätt att få inte mina handsydda kläder i rotation igen, men jag orkar inte dokumentera. Även om just dokumentation är valfritt så vill jag göra det om jag deltar, jag vill se hur mina kläder ser ut på mig.

In the end I decided to combine these two and join Me-Made-May. I need a wardrobe evaluation and I need to know how my handmade wardrobe holds up. So here goes:

I, Helena of eitchy.wordpress.com, @eitchy (Instagram) sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’16. I endeavor to wear one piece of handmade clothing for 25 days of May.

 Till slut så valde jag att kombinera dessa två saker och jag deltar i Me-Made-May. Jag behöver en garderobsutvärdering och jag behöver veta hur mina handsydda garderob står sig.

 Jag, Helena från eitchy.wordpress.com, @eitchy (Instagram), anmäler mig som deltagare i Me-Made-May ’16. Jag ska bära ett handsytt plagg minst 25 dagar i maj.

This is a step back from previous pledges, but I have gotten rid of plenty of handmade clothing since then. Like I said, my goal is to get a new rotation going. I hope I can do a wardrobe purge during May as well. Hopefully I can figure out a way to get decent self-timer photos with my mobile, it will probably be the easiest to follow my progress on Instagram (@eitchy). I’ll also be posting to the Flickr group since I like the discussions over there and do some sort of round up here, maybe weekly or in the end of the month. I don’t want to overdo it for myself.

Mitt löfte är mindre än de jag tidigare gjort, men jag har gjort mig av med en hel del handsydda plagg under tiden. Som sagt, mitt mål är att få in plaggen i bruk igen. Jag hoppas kunna göra en rensning under maj också. Förhoppningsvis kan jag hitta på ett sätt att ta bra självutlösarbilder med mobilen, i så fall är det lättast att följa mig på Instagram (@eitchy). Jag kommer också lägga upp bilder på Flickr, mest för att jag gillar diskussionerna i gruppen och göra någon sorts sammanfattning här, kanske veckovis eller i slutet av månaden. Jag vill inte lova för mycket.

 

Are you joining?

Är du med?

3 thoughts on “Wardrobe Thoughts

  1. I’m planning on joining in this year to force myself to figure out new ways to wear the me-mades. But I don’t have much left. I think I’ve made 3 tops in the last year and I got rid of a lot during the year too. So I am going to have to be creative with my pledge!

  2. Inte med… I.e not taking the pledge, but wearing me-mades as much as possible. Regarding tidying the closet, Marie Kondo is a bit too ocd for me. I prefer the simple slogan “love it, use it or get rid of it.” There’s nothing wrong with keeping stuff you love even though you don’t use them – as long as they’re not the majority. If you live in a shoe box, a conmari approach might be a good idea, but when you’re in a part of the world that has four seasons, you need some stuff. Tidy your closet, but maybe becoming get clearer on what your style is and what enhances you is a better approach to getting a wardrobe that works. At least it was for me. Realising that fabrics I love are not necessarily a good fit, was amazing. I’m shopping guide fabrics with a different mindset now.

Leave a Reply

